English USD
Need help? +53 72049309


Cathedral Square of Havana panoramic view - Havana

Havana is the current capital city of the Republic of Cuba and also one of the fifteen current Cuban provinces. It is the largest city in Cuba and throughout the Caribbean islands. The city meets the definition of megacity, with an estimated 2,148,132 inhabitants, equivalent to over 20% of the population of the whole country, and equates to a population density of 2,963.8 inhabitants per sq. km. The capital territory ranks sixteenth in size among the provinces, with 726.75 sq. km., accounting for 0.7% of the total land area. Havana is the largest city, main port and economic and cultural center. It is the official seat of the supreme bodies of government: legislative, executive and judicial; and home to all the central agencies and almost all companies and national associations. It is also known as Villa de San Cristóbal de La Habana; and nicknamed the Key to the New World and the City of Columns (by Cuban writer Alejo Carpentier).

Havana is probably the most exciting city in Latin America, but it can also be exhausting. It is one of the most vibrant, colorful cities in the Caribbean. Much of the charm of the town can be found among the narrow streets lined with crumbling buildings and fascinating people, where an excellent adventure vacation can be planned for endless enjoyment.